Eight new firefighters will soon be answering calls in the City of Erie.

Mayor Joe Schember swore in the newest members of the Erie Fire Department during a ceremony in City Council Chambers Tuesday morning.

Fire Chief Guy Santone also introduced each rookie:

  • Dion Larese
  • Ronald J. Dombkowski
  • Matthew Southwick
  • Ray Szumigala
  • Judd Spaulding
  • Eric Diluzio
  • Michael Hodak
  • Eric Hiney

The firefighters have completed all the necessary training and are now officially joining the department.

Each firefighter has their own reason for joining, but they told Erie News Now they look forward to serving the community and supporting one another.

"The brotherhood. The friendship, the bond you get with everyone, [I'm] looking forward to that and getting better at what I do every day, trying to learn and just get better," said Dion Larese, new firefighter for engine company 6.

The firefighters have already been assigned to their new fire houses.