The District 10 played their championship games on Memorial Day. 1A-4A in both baseball and softball decided who would win District 10, while many teams advancing to the PIAA playoffs next week. Here is the summary of the championship action


1A: Jamestown 4 Kennedy Catholic 1

        -The Muskies of Jamestown were the final team of the day to claim their District 10 title, but it was worth the wait. Kennedy Catholic scored first and held the lead after two innings. The Muskies though came back with four unanswered runs over the final five innings. Richard Graham had the key two-run double in the third inning to put Jamestown ahead. Jed Goodlin then brought home Graham with another double. They added another run late to put the finishing touches on the title. Jamestown will play at Slippery Rock Wednesday at 4 p.m. in a PIAA subregional.

2A: Rocky Grove 10 Union City 5-Final/ 6 Innings

        - The Union City Bears long run was grounded by the Orioles of Rocky Grove. Six different players had RBIs for the Orioles who clinch the number one seed out of District 10 in the PIAA 2A bracket. They will get the three seed out of the WPIAL. Union City will play the winner of the WPIAL.

3A: Greenville 7 Mercyhurst Prep 5

        -Greenville overcame an early four-run deficit to storm back over the final five innings to claim the District-10 3A Title. Trap Wetling and Jon King each accounted for three Trojan RBI. Greenville scored two runs in the 6th inning to take the 7-5 lead. Mercyhurst Prep'sKaleb Brunecz surrendered his first runs of the postseason after throwing 14 shutout innings in the previous two games. Greenville grabs the one-seed in District 10 and will get the three-seed out of the WPIAL, while Mercyhurst Prep moves on to play the WPIAL Champion.

4A: Grove City 4 Meadville 2

        -The Eagles scored twice in the third and twice in the fifth to capture the District 10 4A crown. Daniel Lucas led the Grove City offense with two hits and two runs driven in. Logan Minch quieted Medaville over five innings of work. he allowed two runs off of seven Bulldogs hits. Tony Cappelino went 3-3 for Meadville. Grove City will get the one seed out of District-10, while Meadville advances to the state playoffs as the second seed.


1A: Cambridge Springs 9 Commodore Perry 4

-The Blue Devils are advancing to the state playoffs after coming from behind. Cambridge Springs trailed 4-0 after a Taylor Stringert grand slam. The Blue Devils scored nine unanswered runs to win the District-10 title. They are the second Cambridge Springs team to win a championship joining the boy's volleyball team.

2A: Saegertown 15 Cochranton 2-Final /6 Innings

- The Panthers of Saegertown left no doubt who the 2A champion would be, scoring 10 runs in the sixth inning to defeat Cochranton in six. They will advance as the one seed, while Cochranton gets the two seed from District-10.

3A: Hickory 3 Jamestown 2

-The Hickory Hornets finished off a championship run with dramatics, scoring in the final inning to edge Jamestown. Ella Holland doubled with two outs in the top of the seventh plating Sarah Cardamon after she advanced to third on back-to-back wild pitches. Autumn Black was another key piece of the Hornets lineup, going 2-4 with an RBI. Jamestown was held to just four hits by Black who struck out six over seven innings. Hickory will advance to the PIAA playoffs starting next Monday.

4A: Slippery Rock 3 Warren 1

- The Rockets were able to hold off the Dragons and work out of a bases-loaded jam in the seventh inning. Warren loaded the bases in their final at-bat after being held silent for the first six innings. A walk by Cheyenne Hindman forced in a run to make it 3-1. However, the Slippery Rock starter got the next batter to line out to secure the Rockets championship. Slippery Rock won the crown despite being held hitless until the sixth inning. The Rockets scored two runs in the first on two passed balls. The added another in the sixth on Juliana Hutchinson RBI-single. Slippery Rock advances to the state playoffs with the victory and will begin play June 4.